Maeghan Kennard Shares NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year Accolade

Maeghan Kennard Shares NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year Accolade

COLCHESTER, Vt. - Saint Michael's College women's ice hockey rising senior Maeghan Kennard (Hamlin, N.Y./Niagara Jr. Purple Eagles) was among 19 winners of the New England Women's Hockey Alliance (NEWHA) Student-Athlete of the Year accolade on Friday, and was one of 16 Purple Knights who landed NEWHA All-Academic honors.

Kennard and 18 co-winners shared NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year, which recognized those with the highest grade-point average posted during the 2021-22 school year. All 19, including Kennard, recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA.

The 16 Purple Knights who landed NEWHA All-Academic were among 122 student-athletes lauded by the league for recording a minimum 3.0 GPA during each semester this past school year. This marks the eighth time since 2012-13 that at least 12 Purple Knights earned conference all-academic laurels, missing turning the feat in that stretch only during the NEWHA's first two seasons, prior to the establishment of an all-academic team. Saint Michael's competed in the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) East and New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) prior to the NEWHA's creation.

Kennard and rising senior Sophia Burns (Syracuse, N.Y./Syracuse Nationals) both landed their third career NEWHA All-Academic Team laurel. Second-time qualifiers were May graduate Gabriella Dicomitis (Warwick, R.I./Williston Northampton School), rising senior Ella Saracco (Melrose, Mass./Austin Prep), and rising juniors Evelyn Andrade (San Ramon, Calif./Meijer AAA), Jenna Hoops (Woodbury, Minn./Saint Paul United), Karli Lafferty (Cape May, N.J./Boston Shamrocks), Mikaela Langbacka (Lorton, Va./Washington Pride), Mary Leys (Newport, R.I./Saint George's School), Carissa Mudrak (Duluth, Minn./Gentry Academy) and Jace Zapata (Brea, Calif./Gentry Academy).

May graduate Courtney Kelly (Arlington, Mass./Boston Jr. Shamrocks), rising junior Emma Kelly (Dorchester, Mass./Boston Latin School), and rising sophomores Lucy Drougas (Superior, Wis./Madison Capitols), Angelina Ruiz (Independence, Minn./Gentry Academy) and Gaby Tribelli (Montreal, Quebec/Dawson College) landed their initial accolades.