Riley Nichols '21 Shares NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year Accolade

Riley Nichols '21 Shares NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year Accolade

COLCHESTER, Vt. - Saint Michael's College women's ice hockey May graduate Riley Nichols (Gilford, N.H./Tilton School) was among 12 winners of the New England Women's Hockey Alliance (NEWHA) Student-Athlete of the Year accolade this week, and was one of 17 Purple Knights who landed NEWHA All-Academic honors.

Nichols and 11 co-winners shared NEWHA Student-Athlete of the Year, which recognized those with the highest grade-point average posted during the 2020-21 school year. All dozen, including Nichols, recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA.

The 17 Purple Knights who landed NEWHA All-Academic were among 114 student-athletes lauded by the league for recording a minimum 3.0 GPA during each semester this past school year. This marks the seventh time since 2012-13 that at least 12 Purple Knights earned conference all-academic laurels, missing turning the feat in that stretch only during the NEWHA's first two seasons, prior to the establishment of an all-academic team. Saint Michael's competed in the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) East and New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) prior to the NEWHA's creation.

Nichols joined May graduates Abby Dirks (Danvers, Mass./Pingree School) and Krista Ferrari (Dunstable, Mass./East Coast Wizards), rising senior Erica Pareja (Odenton, Md./Washington Pride), and rising juniors Sophia Burns (Syracuse, N.Y./Syracuse Nationals) and Maeghan Kennard (Hamlin, N.Y./Niagara Jr. Purple Eagles) in landing their second career NEWHA All-Academic Team laurels.

Qualifying for the first time were rising senior Gabrielle Dicomitis (Warwick, R.I./Williston Northampton School), rising juniors Jordan Lettiere (Belmont, Mass./Belmont) and Ella Saracco (Melrose, Mass./Middlesex Islanders), and rising sophomores Evelyn Andrade (San Ramon, Calif./Meijer AAA), Madeleine Biondi (Cranston, R.I./Cushing Academy), Jenna Hoops (Woodbury, Minn./Saint Paul United), Karli Lafferty (Cape May, N.J./Boston Shamrocks), Mikaela Langbacka (Lorton, Va./Washington Pride), Mary Leys (Newport, R.I./Saint George's School), Carissa Mudrak (Duluth, Minn./Gentry Academy) and Jace Zapata (Brea, Calif./Gentry Academy).