Every Spring Program Automatically Qualifies for Postseason as Part of NE10's Semester Plan

Every Spring Program Automatically Qualifies for Postseason as Part of NE10's Semester Plan

Brackets: Baseball | Men's Lacrosse | Women's Lacrosse | Softball | Men's Tennis | Women's Tennis

COLCHESTER, Vt. - The Northeast-10 Conference unveiled its postseason plan for the spring semester on Thursday, announcing all baseball, men's and women's lacrosse, softball and men's and women's tennis programs will automatically qualify for league tournaments while also revealing the date and location of the men's golf championship. Saint Michael's College sponsors all seven of these sports, with each program having begun competition already this spring.

Similar to the adjustments made to spring schedules as part of the conference's return-to-play plan, the NE10 has altered postseason competition formats in an effort to reduce travel and allow for regular COVID-19 surveillance testing. The allowance of full-field postseason formats factors in the reality of teams not being able to complete their full regular-season schedules due to COVID-19 protocol and therefore allows each team the opportunity to compete for a league championship.

Key changes to the normal postseason format includes a one-day, 36-hole men's golf championship on April 20 at Springfield Country Club in West Springfield, Mass. For baseball, women's lacrosse and softball, whose regular seasons are being played within divisions, the postseason format retains a divisional format until the final championship event or series. Both divisions have their own seven-team bracket to determine which two schools will play for that NE10 championship, as the top seed from each draws a first-round bye while the second through fourth seeds host opening-round contests. The women's lacrosse tournament begins on April 30, softball on May 4 and baseball on May 11. Divisional finals for baseball and softball are best-of-three series before the Northeast and Southwest division winners meet in another best-of-three set.

The seven-team men's tennis championship begins on April 24, when the No. 1 seed receives a bye while the second- through fourth-seeded squads host opening-round matches. Women's tennis and men's lacrosse, which start on April 25 and 28, respectively, will feature 11-team brackets, with the top five squads in each receiving first-round byes. The sixth, seventh and eighth seeds host opening-round contests.

All brackets or schedules are subject to change based on the established institutional and conference health protocol. The health and safety of student-athletes, coaches and campus communities remains the primary focus for the league. Conference winning percentage will determine championship seeding for team sports, with higher seeds serving as the host institutions throughout the tournaments. All game and match times are to be determined.